Summer fruits

A nice steady task picking blackcurrants, I found myself a stool/plastic bucket to sit on. A punnet of blackcurrants from the old fruit bushes that I inherited, plus a punnet of Hinnomaki red gooseberries from the young bushes I bought in Tesco's, I'm really chuffed wit them to bear so much fruit in the first year after planting. Great value! I faffed around with the  fruit protection net over the other blackcurrant bushes. The branches are absolutely laden so I found some wire shelving to prop the branches up until they've fruited. Some fruit bush pruning for later in the year. The Japanese squash needed tying in, a daily job. A little weeding then home.

I forgot to lift some spuds so had to nip back up.

Dinner tonight roast pork with homegrown spuds, broad beans, broad bean tips, carrots, & gooseberry sauce, in the absence of apple sauce. Very satisfying. No room for pud, no time to make one after topping & tailing the blackcurrants. What a fiddly job. No wonder Mr Ribena made cordial.

Thanks to Laurie54 for hosting Mono Monday - Summer/Winter

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.