Late as usual

Arisaema candidissimum, a very special relative of our native Lords and Ladies, is always very late appearing above ground.   Other species that I grow have been in evidence many weeks, flowered and now setting seed.  This one only broke the surface a week ago, there are several others in the group which will flower over the next week or so.   Found wild in Western China, it's a long lived, tuberous, garden plant.   I've had these around twenty five years.

I've unloaded yesterday's haul of boxes and fortunately they stack neatly in the porch, just out of our way.   Putting them there did involve moving out a few other boxes of stuff but there was also a stack of empty boxes to which I have added this afternoon after sorting through some of their contents.   Another load ready to go to the charity shop.

A space is cleared in the living room for a 'puppy pen' which I erected under Jamie's watchful eye via a video call.    Once again I'm very happy I opted for vinyl rather than carpet!    There's plenty more to do to puppy proof the house but this is a good place to start.

Meg's evening dog walk saw us meeting up with old friends whose field we sometimes use for exercise and play.   Lots to catch up on as I haven't seen them for a while.   They have a large and interesting garden in need of some TLC, it could become a home for some of my spare plants in future but there's some work to do first which I shall be helping with.   A good choice to go there before I ate, rain arrived as I left them.

Back to Poole tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.