Maureen6002

By maureen6002

In search of red—throated divers.

You may well be relieved to know that I think the bulk of our historic explorations have been completed, with a focus now returning to landscape, wildlife and flora. Of course we’ve loved the incredible array of ruins and remains here in Orkney, but I think I’m close to suffering from information overload! As, no doubt are you! 

So after seven days of full-on activity, today’s a day to unwind just a little. We have a late - 9.00am breakfast - and only attempt one walk. However, it’s wet, very wet. I really don’t do wet walking, but clad in waterproofs, we trudge up the hillside to two lakes, Peerie and Mackle Water, where we hope to find red-throated divers. 

If visibility is poor at the start, by the time we’re in the hills we’re also in the clouds. The rain is far too heavy to have my camera out and ready to shoot, so when we spot a diver flying overhead, there’s no chance of a capture. 

We carry on to the larger lake, Mackle Water, which seems void of all bird life but for the Arctic Skuas which soar above us before ominously diving down. 3% of UK population of Arctic Skua inhabit Rousay’s moorlands, and they don’t seem to take kindly to our presence - though of course they may just be looking for food. 

Cold and wet, we trudge along the shores looking for divers. Eventually, G spots a pair bobbing in the middle of the loch. They’re far away, and the water’s very choppy, so getting anything like a decent shot is close to impossible. And of course, as soon as I’ve returned my camera to its waterproof covers, they take flight overhead …. 

Time to return, we decide, but as we do, we have a second chance as there are three on Peerie water. By now the rain has eased, but poor light and wind and distance do not combine for ideal photographic conditions. Still, I try. 

Of course, one advantage of this ‘dampness’ is the drippiness of vegetation, so the walk back focuses on flora. I am amazed by the sheer variety of flowers, grasses, lichens, mosses ….. and wish I knew more about their names. 

Back in our hotel, we attempt to dry out. Up to today, we’ve been blessed by good weather, and you don’t come to Orkney and Shetland expecting a daily dose of sunshine.

I have a little time to comment - or at least star - your journals, if not to respond to all your lovely comments. But once again, I really do appreciate these - as well as stars and hearts. 

So by right, today’s blip should be a red-throated diver, but whilst I’m delighted we saw them AND that I managed to get some shots, I have relegated my diver to an extra, together with nettle and flora collages. My main is, I think Arctic willow - or dwarf/least willow? I was fascinated by the way water droplets are captured by what I presume are seed heads. I’m sure fellow blippers will put me right! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.