JournoJan

By JanPatienceArt

A Round Robin

For the last two years I've been immersed in the art of George Wyllie through my involvement with The Whysman Festival.
George died at the age of 90 last May just as we were preparing to celebrate his playfully serious legacy.
George's dad Andy ('a cheerful man' according to his son) always used to say he'd come back as a robin when he died and George said the same thing.
Louise Wyllie (George's elder daughter) has told me some funny stories about robins appearing at odd moments over the last few months - particularly when we were in the throes of installing/de-installing his Retrospective, In Pursuit of the Question Mark, at The Mitchell in Glasgow.
(More than 11,000 visitors... I thank you all!)
It is very much in keeping with the Wyllie magic I have come to know and love that he would make his presence felt at key moments.
So... a wee robin had been hopping about my back garden for the last few days and I tried to pin him down this morning.
George Ralston Wyllie... What now?
George Wyllie Education Initiative website

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.