Rhododendron

Flower Friday - so having been to Hazlehead Park yesterday I chose Johnston Gardens today.

The moorhen is very house proud. When I arrived she was busy on the nest  making it comfy for later in the day with various minor alterations. Then she went to the small island which I have concluded is her day quarters. I think the chick hides out here amongst the reeds, safe from the seagulls. I went to have a look at the island, but though I had seen the adult going onto the island there was no sign of her from where I was standing.

It was quite cool this morning and I was glad I had dressed for a much less summery climate. Only 12º in the park with a cool wind. The rain stopped at some point overnight. There may be some more rain this evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.