Life with Alice

By elirin

Glad midsommar! Happy Midsummer!

Yes! Today is midsommarafton or Midsummer’s Eve, the most Swedish of days and our best loved holiday! The weather is typical with showers on and off and rather chilly, so people have to move everything inside and then back outside because on midsommar, TRYING to sit outdoors and eat is a must. 

First thing, mum made my flower wreath. I like it (best when it’s not on top of my head). 

Me and mum went over to Grandma and enjoyed the smörgåsbord with herring a couple of ways, new potatoes, dill, salmon cured and smoked, eggs with shrimp and fresh strawberries with whipped cream. Yay! I got everything except herring, plus liver pâté. It was a small smörgåsbord this year, mum said. I thought it was grand! 

Then me and mum went to the small Midsummer pole that we found along my basic walk yesterday! Dancing around the Midsummer pole is a very important and our favourite song is “Small frogs”. So we did that and mum probably looked very silly but we don’t care.

I think more strawberries and maybe ice cream will be on the menu tonight! Yay for midsommarafton!

Me at Grandma’s and the pole in extras. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.