Life with Alice

By elirin

The Net Vet

For the first time in a looong time, me and mum went for an outing today! We went to the small town of Vadstena on the shores of lake Vättern, known for the medieval convent church of St Brigid, whose hometown this was, the 16th century castle built by king Gustav Vasa and the present time Birgittine Abbey, where I once visited one of mum’s nun friends. 

It started fabulously, with a walk along the water past lovely allotments and grassy areas where people and dogs enjoyed the beautiful day and went swimming. Our goal was to go exploring a bird sanctuary where mum had never been. Once there, we found a small bench near an observation tower and mum said Let’s eat our picnic here! But let’s go down to the water first so you can get your paws nice and cool. Best laid plans…

It was a walk of maybe four meters there and four meters back. When we were back at the bench, I wouldn’t put my right front paw down and kept licking it. Once mum realised this could be serious - as in poisonous snake bite - she panicked, because we were a long way away from the nearest vet. But - she remembered the vet app! She made an appointment, and then carried me half walking, half running back to the car, heart pounding, saying prayers as we went. 

We sat on a lawn near the church and talked to the vet. Mum filmed me and examined my paw and leg so the vet could see. Mum asked if we should head back to the city, but she said we should just take it easy for an hour and if I was still ok, we could go on with our visit. So we did, and I WAS ok, for which mum is immensely grateful.

We checked out the town along with hoards of others tourists, and found an ice cream place where the lady shouted Please, come in! when mum asked if I could enter (this is very rare in Sweden). So we got ice cream! All in all, an eventful day with a happy ending. Thanks to the net vet, whom I didn’t even have to meet in person. There’s a collage in the extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.