New reality day 332

Today we celebrate Juhannus which is just a name for Midsummer sun celebrations. The name originates from the ancient weather god Ukko (= old man)  who was celebrated during mid-summer during the brightest days. With Christianity, old traditions little by little changed, and June 24th was dedicated to John the Baptist.


My brother-in-law came yesterday. I was home bit before 11pm after work. I had a headache and my back was aching. I wasn't at my best. But late evening with my husband and his brother, a drink in my hand and very soon I was laughing at their stupid banter. And participating.



I've been laughing all day today too. Our sense of humor just mixes very well. We've had a very nice day.

We took V-M to see Hiidenvuori Hill and Mankala waterpower plant with the dam. They had coffees and I an ice cream at a coffee shop in Vuolenkylä village at the lakeside.



Then we came home and put the fire to the Iron Monster and made very VERY good meal and nearly ate us to sleep.



Now the guys have fixed the fence that the falling tree broke down 2 days ago and they have started the fence project. Naturally we now have one 2 meter piece less and do not have enough pieces. Those pieces do not fit in our car, so I don't know how we'll handle this. Put in something in temporarily and get the missing piece when the van is here next time.



I did the (TRIED TO DO) the cheese cake. It wasn't that the recipe was hard but as I'm not used to US measures I had to change everything to liters. And then double the measures. I also had to "adjust" some ingredients as I wasn't planning to make it double, but I only had a big cake mould, so I had to "adjust". Whatever it will be, very well could be a crumbles with white mess, everything tasted very good, so... then I'll just put it to tall glass and serve it with a spoon. Top it with vanilla ice cream and that's it! :-D



Now I'll join the guys building the fence for moral support.

Happy Juhannus to everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.