Kibbling time

Not a bad day, quite sunny in fact, and I saw a squirrel in the garden, the first one for a while, tho' they must come in when we're not looking! I took several pictures through the window so the quality leaves a lot to be desired. I've put it on as an extra. I did a bit of dock-pulling along the roadside - OK, I don't have to, but they makes it look very weedy! - and planted out a big Blechnum chilense down at the bottom of the slope. At least I think that's what it is, an evergreen fern from - you've guessed - Chile!

After lunch I went to Taynuilt to see my friend Dave and his partner at his nursery - she was working in the tunnel while we walked around talking plants. Good to see another planty friend who turned up too, so we sat in the tunnel with a hot drink and blethered.

My Blip today is of a lovely old machine - a Kibbler made by McGregor & Co of Leigh, now in Greater Manchester. Kibbling grain means to roughly grind it, mostly to get the husks off. I don't know when it was made, but it was pretty amazing!

On the way home I drove along Glen Lonan and visited the tunnel to give my veg bed a good soaking as I don't think the seep hoses are working all that well. A good day and a lot of photographs taken!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.