A Peacock Moment

A trip out this morning to Arley, my first visit for two months. A grey, drizzly day - but the gardens still looked splendid. There were quite a few volunteers around doing things, and tents and marquees up beyond the Hall. They are preparing for a garden festival this coming weekend.,

Arriving, I noticed a couple of peacocks on a flat roof beside the route from the car park. I have never seen peacocks here before. I took a few photos, including this one. As I did so, I heard the nurseryman talking to a colleague - they had sighted them too, and were not at all happy. These birds have clearly flown in from elsewhere. Are peacocks and young plants an unhappy combination ?

Late afternoon J cut my hair (it had entered the ridiculous stage) and I cut hers. The Covid infection rate in Manchester, where we usually go for our haircuts, is now really high, so we’re not going there for a while. We’re getting adept at this hair cutting lark.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.