Stroomvantaal

By fado

Sevilla Airport

Last Sevillian breakfast at Casa Tomate in Calle Mateos Gago.

At 09:00 this morning I arrived at Sevilla Airport - on time.
Good atmosphere here.

Upon my arrival at Schiphol a sort of Hello Goodbye scene occurred. I just got off the plane at Gate D58. A Mexican girl of about 19 years old, clung to me. Crying and completely upset she begged in Spanish/English: 'Please help me, I'm lost at the airport, I have to pass through passport control and my plane to Mexico City leaves in half an hour.'
Immediately I decided to help her. With 10 kg of luggage on my back, I ran with her through the long corridors of the Arrivals halls to the Departures. She had to be at gate F5. Stairs down and running again. Out of breath, we reached the passport control where a long line stood. I clutched a security guard and asked him to give her priority. He responded quickly, she could pass the line to let check her passport. From that moment I had to let her go - but she was still unsure whether she could find the right gate by herselves. The security guard told her how she had to walk to gate F5. She wanted to give me a big hug but there was no time to waste - she cried "thank you" and I gave her a kiss through the air (een handkus - weet de exacte vertaling niet). Then she cried even harder. I was standing there with tears in my eyes - I felt her fear and relief. Hope she finally reached her plane. I think she did.

Special sensation that - while we didn't know each other's name - we had a wonderful covenant during 10 minutes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.