Marionb

By Marionb

I Chased A Turtle and...

The Turtle Won!

The most exciting thing that happened on this dreary, rainy day was that a turtle showed up on the grass in front of the cottage. We had one visit last season and it dug a hole to lay its eggs on that same spot, so this was VERY interesting. Both my daughter and I rushed out to take photos and the turtle obligingly posed for lots of shots but then decided to waddle off toward the water. Being greedy for another shot, I followed and in trying to catch up to it, I slipped on the wet rocks and took a bad fall, landing on my back and banging my head. Oblivious to the excitement behind it, the turtle doggedly continued on its way and made it safely to the water's edge. 

Rest assured, I am fine, but it is embarrassing to have to say no, I did not fall climbing a rock cliff or anything like that. I fell chasing a turtle. I can hear the questions now.."And how fast WAS the turtle going?" Needless to say, that ended my activities for the day. It was best to put the camera away, rest, recuperate and prepare for a lot of stiffness tomorrow. 

Tomorrow my daughter and S-I-L return home and I get to stay on for a few more days until the cottage switches over to my sister and her family.The weather forecast is rain, rain, rain, but I have come prepared with lots of books, and knitting, sketching and/or painting supplies and will certainly refrain from chasing turtles whilst here by myself. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.