Marionb

By Marionb

Rainy Day Survival Kit

Well, another dreary, all-day rain day at the cottage which puts a damper on outdoor activities..but gives permission to sit, read, knit and watch TV...and of course, nap. My one outdoor activity today was trying to photograph our busy little hummingbirds. My first foray out into the rain with my camera was accompanied by quite brisk winds, so trying to photograph a hummingbird on a branch blowing in the wind? How could that possibly work ? Well, it didn't. Hence the survival kit blip  - all the things I have to amuse myself here and which will get much use as the forecast is for more rainy days! 

This evening, as the wind had died down, I thought I would give the hummingbird project one more try. So I put on my black hoodie and stood, disguised, next to a tree in the rain waiting and WOW..the motherlode of hummingbird action! Three of them were fighting for position at the feeder, and then retreating to the pine tree and resting on branches which  - yay - were no longer swaying in the wind!  Snap, snap, snap! ( see extra) 

Wonder what will happen tomorrow...rain, yes. But maybe I will get a shot of the little snapping turtle that hangs out down by the dock? I have yet to see him, but everybody else has - sort of like the bears - I alone have not yet seen them..maybe they will make an appearance? If not, and nothing nature-wise offers blips, I will have to be very creative!  Indoor photo-ops  here are limited! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.