Biking for Bling!

I noticed a sign across the road a day or two ago about a yard sale. The address was a five-minute bike ride away, so I grabbed my daysack (in case I bought anything) and a few dollars, and hopped on my bike to go shopping!

I parked my bike along the road and walked up to the sale. Two little kids, a boy and a girl, maybe six or so, chatted me up, as I perused the "freebie" section. As I picked up each item, they told me a story about it and encouraged me to take it. It was very cute, actually. And yes, I did take a few free items, including a tiny Pocahantas action figure that I am sure will be featured in a photo shoot very soon!

Inside, though, was where the treasures were. The sign said earrings fifty cents, and necklaces a dollar. The elephant pin (which I hope is not actual ivory) was also a buck. Yes, those necklaces are both OPALS; not bad for a dollar, eh? The woman put the items in a baggie for me and I slipped it into my daysack.

I did nab a few other items. In all, my total expenditure was eight dollars. T. Tiger was along, but he kept a low profile inside my daysack; as a minor local celebrity of sorts, he enjoys traveling incognito. So it was on this day.

We came back through the edge of the Scotia Barrens and the amphibian researchers were there, examining newts. They put each newt in a baggie, measured it, photographed it, and put a glow-in-the-dark stripe on each one for posterity. I did wonder - if I came back to that pond at night, would all of the amphibians . . . GLOW? Wow! And what do the NEWTS think of all of this, hmm?

The soundtrack song is for the bling: here's Joan Baez, with Diamonds and Rust.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.