Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Bombus...

I was debating today on posting a wasp or a bee.  But, to be fair, I know more people like bees than wasps and, besides, this may be a new species for my garden list.  I am actually waiting for confirmation on the id, but i think this is B. bimaculatus (Two-spotted Bumble Bee).  It's a relatively small bee with a somewhat shaggy coat.  Very cute.  And a flight shot, which is always a happy accident!

Edit: confirmed Bombus bimaculatus

I also photographed two different species of paper wasps, both from a safe distance.  Paper wasps are social wasps so they can be rather bad-tempered as they all have the hive-instinct.  Which basically means "sting first, ask questions later".  I like photographing them, but I exercise a certain amount of caution.  If you would care to have a look in Extra, I've posted a Northern Paper Wasp, one of the less aggressive species.

I had a doozy of a nightmare last night which is unusual for me.  No doubt my brain is still working things out in respect to cancer.  Anyway, it made getting back to sleep hard so I slept later than usual this morning.  However, I'm having a pretty good day in terms of energy.  I'm tired right now, but had good energy this morning.  And the rashy radiation skin is definitely slowly getting better (hallelujah).  

Looking forward to talking to my parents in the morning.  The heatwave in the Portland area is unbelievable.  I just saw that the forecast for Monday is now calling for 117 F which is hotter than Tucson, Arizona!

Chocolate honey pecans today - yum!!!  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.