Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Mommy, Mommy, Mommeeee!

I did something really bone-headed today.  I knew that my box of House Wrens that hatched on 9 July (HERE) was going to fledge either yesterday or today.  I had been keeping an eye on the box intermittently for the last hour and did not see Mama coming in, although I could hear her chattering and saw her give chase to a blue jay who got too close.  That should have been my tip that the box still had babies - she was clearing the air space to give them a clean flight path.  But, no - instead I went and opened the box.  And in rapid succession, out flew 4 fully feathered and flight-ready baby wrens.  Mama was totally pissed at me, scolding me non-stop while wrenlets scattered into the nearby trees.  

Feeling like a complete idiot, I stayed outside for quite a while - long enough to see all of the scattered fledglings find their way to a dense tall shrub where Mama was waiting.  This little one was the last to go, perched on top of the cherry tree calling for Mama.  If you look closely, you can see a few little down sprigs on his neck and note his stubby little tail.  My only consolation is that they were going to fledge today anyway - I just sped the process along.  But, darn, I know better.  But at least it ended well.

Meanwhile, somewhat to my surprise, I found two new house wren nests underway - one with two eggs and one with four.  I think there is still just one male and, if so, he must be rather full of himself.

Today has been a very low energy day.  I woke up feeling tired and things haven't really improved.  Nonetheless, I managed to vacuum upstairs and finish a load of laundry as well as get out and restock bird supplies.  But everything today has been an effort and I think I am now going to lay down for a little while.  I know I need to listen to my body but it's hard when my body isn't telling me things I want to hear.  On a positive note, the rash all over my chest is slowly getting better.  I am still using what feels like a ridiculous amount of gel, ointment and lotion on it, but I really do think it is better.  

Meanwhile, my parents and friends in the Pacific Northwest US are heading into what is going to be dangerous weather this weekend.  Beaverton, where my parents live, is looking at 113 F on Sunday which is nearly inconceivable.  Like so many people in the PNW, they don't have AC in their condo, although they do have a small portable unit which they can use to keep cool.  I hope all my friends stay safe.

Be well, keep cool, don't let your chocolate melt!

xo
Debbi

PS - also tagging this for my 2021 yardbird record as species #35

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.