Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Handstands

Or, sometimes called "downward facing dragon", depending on your perspective.  In actual fact, this is something dragonflies do on hot days to cool themselves (called thermoregulation).  It reduces the amount of their body in direct sun and thus helps them not to get too hot.  This dragon, a male blue dasher, is a very common species and also very easy to photograph.  They hunt from perches and tend to return to the same perches, which makes them an easy photo target.  I was sitting on a wooden dock to take this, kind of wishing I could do a bit of thermoregulating myself.

With the upcoming AOGs, I think this particular dasher may be in contention for a medal in dragon handstands.  We'll see.

Hubs and his racing partner had a discouraging run at the track today with the car overheating for reasons yet undetermined.  Not fixable at the track so they packed everything up and drove the 3 hours home.  I feel bad for hubs as he was really looking forward to spending some time in the racecar.  And, because the fates are messing with us, he found a big mouse in the trap this morning in the RV.  That mouse has now been rehomed in south NJ.  Ugh.  That is # 12.

I was out for a few hours today, mostly chasing dragons and enjoying the day.  Had blood work done this morning at a local lab - they did everything very well.  I waited in the car; they texted me when it was my turn; I went straight through to the blood-letting room and was out 5 minutes later.  Tomorrow morning I have a dental cleaning scheduled so we'll see how that goes.  Strange new world we are living in.  

Stay safe, people.  It is obvious that this virus is immune to heat and spread easily and rapidly.  Wear a mask, wash your hands, don't tough your face - be careful!  And, as always... be kind and be loving.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.