Unexpected Visitor

So, there I was, performing my morning ablutions, when there was a gentle thud behind me and, as I turned to see what that meant, saw a black blob in the bath (which was empty and dry).

The first thought was that a spider had descended and would need to be rescued in due course, until I realised that it was, indeed, rather chunky for a spider...but I couldn't really see very well.  My glasses were in the bedroom so I nipped through to get them and once perched upon my nose they revealed it to be a bee - or was it a bee-fly - crawling round the bath.

I inverted the tooth glass over the top, in case it planned to take off into other regions of the house, put some clothes on and ran downstairs to collect the camera, quickly removed said tooth glass and took a few shots as best I could (it's quite a deep bath) before collecting it using the glass-and-paper technique.

Standing at the open back door I removed the glass to allow it to fly happily back to its family. Except it didn't. No, it crawled from the paper onto my hand and no encouragement would persuade it to leave, even when offered the rose bush to sit on. In the end I tipped it onto a bloom and ran away before it climbed back.

Checking the photos later I deduce that is a Tree Bumblebee, (Bombus hypnorum) but how it came to fall into my bath is a mystery - it certainly wasn't flying around when I began washing or cleaning my teeth - perhaps it climbed in through the extractor fan. I do hope it doesn't make a habit of it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.