Beewriter

By Beewriter

Colwyn Bay

I did my first proper sea swim today. I always go in the sea, but I stay relatively near the shore and don’t swim big distances. Today I went to Colwyn Bay for 10am to join in the sea special there. There were safety boats and quite a few swimmers so I felt safe. You can see the big yellow buoy we swam out to in the distance and the second one is just above Jenny’s hat in the left corner. It was really choppy, but the sky was blue and the sun shone most of the time.

It was hard work swimming against waves and being smacked in the face with them. I swallowed some salt water which wasn’t very pleasant but once I got into a rhythm I was alright. I did a couple of laps of the course and contemplated a third but I knew I was tiring as the power in the sea was amazing and I didn’t think I could do it. Next time I will push myself to do three. Jenny did one lap and Lou did three. Jackie was there too and she did two laps as well. As she is in training for a relay across Windermere I felt pleased that I had achieved the same as she did.

Dave had said there were a few jellyfish about but this didn’t put us off. I have an irritation on my neck and I wasn’t sure if it was a jellyfish sting or not. I’ve had one once before and they just irritate for a bit then go.

We had a little picnic in the sunshine then I headed home. I’m absolutely shattered now and I think I’ll sleep well tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.