Plus ça change...

By SooB

Bee Fly

So I learned something today. This insect is a bee fly. It's a fly (one set of wings) disguised as a bee. It is also an early sign of spring (about time, I'd say) usually appearing in the UK in April. So mid-March down here is probably about right. Mind you, he looked pretty chilly, here on my towel on the washing line, so we moved him to a flower in the window box. He is now trapped between the window and the shutters, but at least will be a bit warmer than otherwise (and I've lowered the blind so he won't be bothered by the light!)

Chilly day today, but sunny enough to bring everyone outside regardless. I am learning now that everyone hibernates here between November and March, and you barely get a word out of folk in the winter - but today my three brief excursions outside took 45 minutes each, with everyone wanting to have a good chat. Not that I'm complaining - it's like Gullane Main Street (ie, home).

A letter set me off calling Orange about our internet bill, and set me in a fury that a matter I spent (I'm not exaggerating) 12 hours on the phone about at the start of last year is still coming back to bite us. Sense prevailed and a nice lady called Stefanie has hopefully sorted out something which, while leaving me morally aggrieved, at least leaves me in a financially neutral position. The anger was put to good use, and a bit more of the veg patch is cleared of grass, and a few more tree roots dug and hacked out of the ground.

I think I will be a bit sore tomorrow. Best relax with a nice glass of something red this evening then...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.