Plus ça change...

By SooB

Spring bursting out

I wish. Actually it was a bit warmer today, and still sunny. So can't complain really. That'll come tomorrow when the forecast is cold wet weather.

Another basketball filled day - with TallGirl's team coming out triumphant against fierce opposition. Mainly it was the opposing coach who was fierce: hollering at her girls for the smallest error, and haranguing the ref whenever he gave our team a penalty (and continuing to shout the odds even while our girls were taking penalties. Which doesn't seem on.) There was much tutting from our side of the crowd when the other side's parents were applauding whenever we missed a penalty. Again, just not on. So, it was even more satisfying than normal to have our team win.

CarbBoy, meanwhile, had invited half the neighbourhood children for lunch, without troubling to mention it to me or MrB. I was out, so Mr B had to quit his tricky building a ceiling job to forage for bread and bananas for the ravenous hordes. Later, I swapped some freshly baked cookies for a huge fat duck from my neighbour's freezer, which CarbBoy had won in a lotto and they'd been looking after for us. We may have to rethink tomorrow's dinner as I'm not sure it'll defrost in time... Duck lollies anyone?

Soon I am anticipating a queue of neighbours calling round on some spurious excuse, but mainly to crow about the rugby. I will make sure to leave some wooden spoons by the door to hand out....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.