Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Plenty of rooftop parking available....

I went outside at the end of my 10th floor hallway just to see what 108F/42.2C feels like, and I took the camera. I can tell you now: it feels like Arizona! I lived there for a few years and experienced this stifling, breath-sucking heat. My great grandchildren still live there. In my opinion, it's not a fit place for human habitation in the summer, beautiful though it is during the cooler parts of the year.  My knowledge of that kind of heat is part of the reason why I chose to retire in Oregon, where I felt sure I would never experience such heat again. But before this day is over, the weather people tell us, it will reach 113F/45C.

I know it's a terrible photo, but I'm not going any further from my air conditioned apartment than the end of my hallway on this day. It's the first time I have EVER seen the rooftop parking area at the nearby hospital completely deserted. In ice, snow, pouring rain: there are always cars there. Not today. So far the electric grid is holding up. Fingers crossed.

On Twitter, someone quotes Gramsci: "The old world is dying, and the new world struggles to be born: now is the time of monsters."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.