Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Weather for succulents

Meteorologists measured today's heat at the Portland airport as 116F/47C at 5 PM. Some thermometers measured higher. I don't know. How do you tell the difference between 108 and 116? 

I'm OK physically. The air conditioning is working in my apartment, that privilege. I went out for groceries, was there when the store opened at 7, though it was already hot. My mind is a muddle. Migraine today. I go on with Zoom calls, organizing, planning, listening, talking, writing. The cogs slip. The edges fray.

All who are fragile, vulnerable, barely making it, poor... struggle to survive in the glare, the oppression, the beat-down of a heat that is furnace breath, that is hot needles. People living outside: how do they survive? Newly-hatched birds, seedlings, ripening fruit. Squirrels lie on their bellies, panting. Crows are disoriented, staggering. I identify with staggering crows, even though I am safely inside, not visibly staggering. My mind is off-kilter.

Tonight perhaps a marine wind will sweep in from the west and cool the world. We have that hope. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.