Living my dream

By Mima

Waiting...

...for warmer weather.

In one of my best barter arrangements I am fortunate enough to have access to a 4 ha lifestyle block just a kilometre away. 

It belongs to friends who will retire there and build a house in due course. But for the time being they are concentrating on creating ecosystems by planting natives, digging out ponds and dams, and returning streams to their original (pre-agriculture) courses.

In exchange for eggs each week I am able to walk all over the property with my dog whenever I want. It is a perfect leg-stretch for both of us, but swimming in the ponds will wait until the temperatures are more conducive to getting wet. 

It has reached the dizzying heights of 5 degrees today as a sou'westerly gale blasts across the hills, accompanied by intermittent snow flurries. I was fully rugged up. Jeanie didn't notice, although she apparently agreed with me about keeping out of the water :-) 

Another good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.