The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Nuthatch

I have at last acquired a headset at work so that I can listen to endless teleconferences without getting a stiff neck and an aching arm. The other advantage of having one's hands free is that I can take photographs of nuthatches in the birch outside the window while listening to the call. This one is a constant visitor to the feeder hanging outside the window, taking the excess away to cache in the oak tree. There is enough rusty colour on its flanks to suggest this one is a male.

There wasn't much chance for photography otherwise today. When I walked Gus over the Knott, it was raining and I left the camera at home. I had to work through lunch, so no opportunity for otter hunts on the River Kent. I did watch the sun go down, but it was very bright to the point where it dipped below the fells, so the nuthatch it is today.

I forgot to say thank you last night to all those who made helpful suggestions for overcoming the compatibility difficulties between the new computer and the external hard drive. I haven't had time to try anything yet, but will see if I can sort it over the weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.