olivereastwd

By olivereastwd

Pladda Island and Ailsa Craig

Today was a day off the bike at Kildonan, so I took a long walk up into the hills around Eas Mor and Loch Garbad. It was another stunning day but very hot and exposed outside the forest, so once back (and after a wee siesta) I had a swim in the sea! It was so refreshing and relaxing, and even though it seems pretty normal it felt very novel and beautiful to me.

The campsite got quiet full last night - as I arrived early I got a great spot, and was pitched in between two university profs going car camping and a family who had cycled all the from Belgium, even more impressive as 2 of the 3 kids were in a cargo crate on the front of the dad's bike!

Things are filling up again, so I'll make some food soon then go for a walk along the shore. I'm hoping to head out early tomorrow morning as it is a hilly 50km to Lochranza to meet Mama and Papa. Similarly to my cycle from Brodick, I'm hoping to make a day out of it and stop a bit along the way. Have loved staying here but am also excited for a day on the bike - it's such a wonderful way to travel!

Stay safe
- o

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.