Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Dogs Drink For Free…

…Walkers Pay 10 Cents!

This is the ‘Watering Hole’ that exists at the end of the driveway at my cousin’s house. All the dogs in the banner are a part of friends’ and families’ households. The cooler has ice and bottles of water for the humans. I’m sure all walkers - 4-legged and 2-legged - appreciate the chance to rehydrate!

The day started with another sunrise walk near the hotel in Traverse City. I was up even earlier today - I left the hotel at 530am. Jet-lag has its advantages! See Extra photo for another sunrise collage.

I had to do a covid test ahead of my return to the UK. This one could be an rapid antigen test and I chose the option of ordering it before I left the UK and taking it with me for the trip. I had to do the test while being ‘supervised’ during a video call. I had set that up at 9am local time. It was easy to do and once the result appeared I had a 10-minute window to take a picture and send it as an email attachment. I soon got confirmation along with the document that I would have to show at the airport. It was a good system!

We checked out of the hotel soon after that and were planning to go out for breakfast with several others from the family, but the restaurants were packed, maybe because of Fathers Day, and we didn’t want to wait for over an hour for a table. We said our goodbyes and our small group headed back home to Grand Rapids, stopping for a fast-food breakfast on the way.

We were back home by mid afternoon and enjoyed a relaxing rest of the day on the back deck, ordering a big pizza when we got hungry. I packed up, ready to leave early tomorrow morning. I sure wish I could stay, but I’m on call for work again on Wednesday and although I’ve not been used in almost 5 months, I HAVE to be back, just in case! I hope it won’t be TOO long until travel becomes a little easier and I can return to Michigan again. It’s been great to be here for this special time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.