Midsummer Sunset Picnic

After all our rain yesterday it was a beautiful sunny and dry day today - the longest day of the year!

I spent the morning on a decluttering and scanning project at my desk and then this afternoon a friend came round for a visit in my garden. We had tea and some of the cake from yesterday. It had been AGES since we’d seen each other and our friendship goes right back to when I returned to England in the early 90s, so it was such a treat to see her and catch up with all our news.

After my friend left I decided I’d go for a short walk and a picnic. I ended up in Sonning where I walked through the churchyard and on down to the river. I had my picnic at the lock and watched a couple of boats go through. I saw numerous people and really noticed how many who obviously weren’t in the same household, not make even a passing effort to socially distance. It all seems to be falling apart for many people.

After I ate my picnic I walked along the river a bit and enjoyed the sunset.

See Extra photos for the churchyard and the lock.

In other news - I continued my Swedish theme for lunch today and made another attempt to have the traditional Midsommar meal (which should have been eaten yesterday - see yesterday’s blip) - potatoes, herring 4 ways, egg, sour cream, pickles, and salmon. Moose supervised and gave his Swedish seal of approval. There’s PLENTY for leftovers! See Extra photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.