Glad Midsommar!

Today is a very special day in Sweden. It is their Midsummer (Midsommar) holiday.

Years ago I was in Gothenburg for Midsommar and had such a wonderful time joining in with the festivities - large family and community gatherings with lots of delicious food, singing, dancing, and flowers.

I had to cancel a trip to Sweden in March because of COVID and I wonder when I will be able to visit this beautiful country and my lovely friends again. The celebrations will be very different for them today because they are not able to do the normal large gatherings. I’m sure that many found creative ways to celebrate anyway. You can read about my friend’s day here.

I decided to have a Swedish themed lunch today. Herring and potatoes with sour cream would have been more traditional, but I decided to make a Swedish shrimp and egg sandwich instead, followed by a cake with cream and strawberries, which IS traditional.

Moose was invited to the party, of course. He IS from Sweden after all!  

It is traditional to have rain on Midsommar in Sweden!  But this year they have had a warm and hot day!  We, however, have had plenty of rain here in England today, so we are carrying on the weather tradition!  Even with the rain, I was still able to eat lunch outside during a short dry spell.  And we had a beautiful Midsommar sunset - see Extra photo.  

So to all my Swedish friends, I wish you a very Happy Midsommar!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.