Life with Alice

By elirin

Glad Midsommar!

Happy Midsummer! Today is Sweden’s most loved holiday, and the second biggest to Christmas - Midsummer’s Eve! 

People travel all over the country to popular regions that have traditional celebrations, with tens of thousands of people. They watch the pole raising ceremony, or make their own poles, with leaves and flowers. They dance around the pole, singing silly songs, acting like frogs or violin players. There are flags and flower wreaths and national costumes and singing and traditional music. Herring lots of ways, new potatoes, strawberries and possibly strong spirits are consumed. The sun almost never sets. But of course, everything is different this year.

Mum picked the flowers for my wreath yesterday already, and made it yesterday evening. I’ve had a wreath every year ever since I was a puppy. I like the wreath, but I don’t understand why I have to wear it, exactly. I have to keep my head super still or it falls off. 

We had a nice lunch with four types of herring, new potatoes and egg. And then...and then...we went over to Grandma!!! For real! We went inside! And I got to say Hello properly and she gave me a meatball!! The best thing that could happen! The humans were four meters apart and very careful. Grandma liked my wreath! She in the extra. 

We’re now going to sing and dance “Small frogs”. It’s in the video below which gives you a glimpse of a traditional Swedish Midsummer. The actual pole is not in it, but they’re usually like the one in my picture, but huge. 

https://youtu.be/ry2fwnJ-AtQ

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.