Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Hedge trimmed!

A wee bit of yoga and tai-chi this morning, along with the bike (three times today - not all at once).

Robert took Archie out, and the day was still rather cold and dreich - that bloomin’ haar is still hanging around. But by the time they came back, sun had broken through, and the afternoon was hot and sunny as predicted.

The hedge trimmer crew I’d phoned and asked to come and give a quote, have not yet done so. And the hedge was growing inches every day. I realised that, although I’d rung them twice, they might not come to quote this week at all. And even if they did, they might be too busy to cut it for weeks.

So I decided we’d have to do it once more. So when JR was back from the gym, we attacked it. She is pretty good up on top of the ladder, while I swept up. So I can take my time and arrange for hedge trimmers, getting more than one quote. It always looks super after being straggly for too long.

While we were working out the front, the two neighbours passed by. They are young students renting the neighbour’s flat for a month, because they can’t go back to New York. In fact, they’ve lived in Edinburgh for a year, moving round to different areas, unable to travel. 

They were very sweet, and were interested in Archie. They asked so many questions about him, I think they’re quite keen to get a schnauzer at some point. Archie went through all his tricks. He does look delighted to pose with them… not.

After all that hard work, clearing up after doing the hedge, I went to lie down watch the tennis for a while. JR went off to get some plants.

It was hot in the afternoon, and JR topped up her tan but I just popped out for a wee while between tennis and football. Well done England, though it wasn’t half as exciting a match as last night’s two games, with 14 goals (and a penalty shoot out) between them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.