Two Nil

I missed two opportunities today. I saw a sparrowhawk dive into the base of the hedge but was uploading images so couldn't unhitch the camera in time to get a shot of it emerging with its prey. I do hope it wasn't baby Blackie. This afternoon I heard an interesting-sounding plane approaching. By the time I had swapped lenses and fumbled with the door a Lancaster bomber was disappearing behind the hedge. :(

I watched the second half of the match. When England scored for the second time I started singing, "Two nil, two nil, two nil, two nil." Ollie dog got excited and started singing (moaning) too. Then she rushed off and found her ball. I'm not a football fan but I am patriotic. What a wonderful boost the win has given the nation after all the privations we have suffered over the past year or so. I was in the south of France in 1966 on an exchange visit, having the time of my life, when England beat Germany last time in a major tournament. People kept coming up and congratulating me and I had no idea why.

The wren family were in their usual place this morning hopping all over the builder's machines. This fledgling is on the steering wheel of a dumper truck. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.