YORKSHIREBRED

By Yorkshirebred

Bus Pass Walk

6 Bus Pass Walkers set forth today without our leader and “Bus Whisperer” Corinthian!   2 buses taken from Bingley to Kirkstall near Leeds, and a walk through woodland to Kirkstall Abbey.  It is around 30 years since I visited when my children were quite young.  The museum and cafe are not open on a Tuesday, but the abbey ruins are open everyday and free to visit.  Very quiet at that time of day, and nice to wander around in the sunshine.  There is also a community garden where people are growing vegetables interspersed with types of flowers which keep bugs at bay.  They are also trying to establish a wildflower area in front of the ruins.  The view to the adjacent river looks lovely, and a nice seating area overlooks the weir.  Another collage (and another in extras!) as so many photos taken - the ones looking upwards did my crunching neck no good and made me dizzy, but I liked the angle!  Also took a photo of the columns (not sure if they are Corinthian columns) as a nod to our leader!  Returned to Bingley for refreshments in the Loft Cafe - no baked potatoes left, so I had a lovely veggie chilli in a wrap - very tasty.  Chatting at the end of the meal I was asked about the bus home, only to find we had just missed it!  So we sat in the sunshine until time for the next bus.  Probably the longest time out, but shortest walk we have done so far -   I think I have failed on leadership qualities due to lack of attention, haha!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.