Mrsmacdub

By Mrsmacdub

Sick mother

Today was a long, worrying day.  My Mum had been unwell for a couple of days and when I called her in the morning to check how she was, I was shocked when she said she’d been so unwell during the night that she thought she was going to die.  I called her doctor’s surgery and asked if the doctor could come and see her, as it was a bitterly cold day.  No, that wasn’t possible, we had to go there, but stay outside in the car and the doctor would come to us.  Eventually the doctor appeared but couldn’t examine Mum as it was too cold for her to sit on a chair outside.  He would come to her.  Grrr, why couldn’t that have happened right from the start! After he had examined her we both agreed that it was probably pneumonia.  I was to call the ambulance, he would write a referral letter that I was to collect from the surgery.  After a long wait a paramedic turned up, but no ambulance.  There had been a miscommunication, an ambulance hadn’t been requested, so the paramedic requested one.  After an even longer wait the ambulance and two paramedics arrived and off we went to hospital.  Mum was admitted straight into the Clinical Decision Unit, bypassing the ED.  She was thoroughly checked by a nurse, then a doctor, and was taken off for an x-ray.  When I left at 10:30pm she was being given a sandwich and a cup of tea, along with an antibiotics injection.
The top photo in the blip is the frittata hubby cooked for our supper, the bottom photo is what I actually had at 10pm - two healthy, sugar-free biscuits hubby had popped in the backpack for me ….. just in case.  Thank goodness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.