TucsonJim

By BikerJim

#9 SEMANTIC

The word of the day for the Dictionary Project is -

semantic
adjective -
1. relating to meaning or differences between
meanings of words or symbols
2. of or pertaining to the meaning of words and symbols.
3. pertaining to, or arising from the different meanings
of words or other symbols
4. pertaining to, or the interpretation of signs or symbols
5. of or relating to meaning or the study of meaning
6. study of the relationships between various signs
and symbols and what they represent.
7. the study of language with special concern for the meanings
of words and other symbols

Wikipedia -
Semantics is the study of meaning. The word "semantics" itself denotes a range of ideas, from the popular to the highly technical. It is often used in ordinary language to denote a problem of understanding that comes down to word selection or connotation. This problem of understanding has been the subject of many formal inquiries, over a long period of time.
Those who study meaning differ on what constitutes meaning.

Man give me a break, what are they talking about?
Try to make an image of something that you don't understand.
Maybe I'm a little thick, but I spent a couple of hours today
researching that stupid word, and I'm more confused now
than when I started reading about it.
This is the best representation of that word,
that would work photographically that I could think of!
But I should explain why I choose to photograph this hillside.
In my thinking, this eroded river cliff could be
interpreted in several or many different ways.
Is it a man-made sculpture,
a natural geologic formation,
or the hand of God at work?
I don't know how it was formed, but when I look at it I see
the Holy Mother, Mary, with the cradle by her side and
a figure that is kneeling at Her feet.
This "sculpture" is far off the beaten path, and across the riverbed
of the Lago del Oro. Nobody knows it's there except the
occasional wanderer and a coyote or two.
How does this relate to semantics?
It seems that it can be viewed and described differently
depending on who is doing the looking.
Faith, education, environment, imagination, religion or lack there of,
all have a say in how this hillside is perceived by the observer.

So definition #4 works for me;
- pertaining to, or the interpretation of signs or symbols -

Oh never mind, I just hope you enjoyed looking at my photograph?
To find out more about the project click back a few days, it's all there.
Thanks for visiting me and the Dictionary Project.

Edit: Was I ever tempted to switch words today! But no cheating Jim!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.