This Is Where I Was!

Tuesday - UK time!
After spending all day in Chicago, my flight for London left at about 630pm, which was already tomorrow (!) in the UK, so - in order to fit in with blip rules I’m posting this in UK time already - for Tuesday, not for Monday, if that makes sense!

The route to London from Chicago always goes over Michigan and I was especially delighted to get such a great view of Traverse City and Grand Traverse Bay. I wish my shot was a bit wider so that it would have included the whole of Mission peninsula in between the west and east arms of the bay. Traverse City is at the bottom of the bay, just to the left of the engine in this picture, and we were staying at the bottom of the east arm which is at the top of the picture. This is where my sunrise pictures were taken in my blips on the 19th and 20th. If that sounds totally confusing, you can look up Traverse City in Google Maps and it will make sense. We also had a beautiful view of Mackinac bridge, a suspension bridge (5 miles/8 kilometres) that links the upper and lower peninsulas of the state of Michigan. See first Extra photo.

I was tired, and after sightseeing for a little while, I fell fast asleep until about an hour before landing, just in time for breakfast. There was more sightseeing as we approached London, and I got a good view of the ‘Long Walk’ in Windsor just before landing. See second Extra photo. I’ve enjoyed the views from my ‘office window’ again after so many months of not being on a plane.

It was good to be home. I slept awhile and then the rest of the day was filled with laundry and repacking. I now have to self-isolate at home for 10 days but I go on call for work tomorrow and because my work involves leaving the country, it is a legitimate reason for breaking quarantine. But after almost 5 months of being on call and never getting used, WILL they call me for a work trip tomorrow?? Who knows, but I am ready!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.