Achillea

When I went to the art supply store yesterday to buy some stretcher bars, they only had one of one 19 inch one, the size I needed. Everybody was mystified as to why there was only one, as they come in pairs but without searching every little cubbyhole for it's missing partner I elected to buy a 20 inch one and cut it down. 

After I got it home I realized that this was probably a bad idea, but since the stretcher bars were on sale because the store is going out of business it wasn't a huge investment. With a little help from John and his chop saw and a 'splint' made of some thin wood he found in the garage I actually made it work. There are now two 19x25 stretched pieces of the cloth I ordered without realizing either the size of the print or the type of material hanging on the wall of the porch*. I also made a couple of  pillows  out of the other piece of cloth ordered in error at the same time. 

It is a small thing, but I feel a great sense of satisfaction for having 'rescued' a stupid mistake. And not putting a staple from the lethal heavy duty staple gun through my thumb. I don't know if my sore shoulder is from holding a one minute plank in my zoom Pilates class or from wielding the staple gun. 

The achillea is growing in front of the house in a raised area above the driveway, so I was able to shoot it like a little forest of trees against the sky. 

Not an eventful day but a pleasant enough one. The huge eucalyptus behind them has grown a whole new coat of leaves after looking totally burned after the fire.

Thanks to everyone for your good wishes on our anniversary. What a nice group of people you are....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.