100 ABSTRACTS - NUMBER 75 AND ABSTRACT THURSDAY

As you know, whilst doing this 100 Abstracts Challenge, I am always on the lookout for abstracts and yesterday, when I was washing out a bottle in the bowl, after I had finished the washing up, I was swishing it around and saw the bubbles it made, so thought it would make a good abstract.

Today, I decided that when washing up my Marks & Spencer mug, I could use this for today’s abstract - and in fact, could make it another “Two for One”.  This one is Number 75 in the 100 Abstracts Challenge for the Mamie Martin Fund, which provides financial help for impoverished girls in North Malawi so that they may have a secondary school education and it also fits in with today’s Abstract Thursday challenge, where there is no actual theme.

After I had taken this shot, I had to quickly get ready, because Mr. HCB had said we could go out for the day and perhaps have lunch - so I was very excited - particularly as it is the first time we have been out for lunch for over 15 months.  We decided to go to Chipping Campden and on the way came across a sign which said “Food Store, Café and Deli - 2 miles”.  As it was on our way, we soon found it and what a find!  It is based at Longborough, near Moreton-in-the-Marsh and what a delight - the staff were friendly, the brunch we had was delicious and the coffee was top notch so all was well.  In fact, we were so pleased that we bought several other goodies on the way out and then decided to just meander our way home, which took us a couple of hours.

We came through a beautiful little Cotswold village called Shilton, parked the car and sat on a seat next to the pond, overlooking a ford and ate some of our goodies - well that will save me cooking tonight!  I have put in two collages as extras so that you can see what a lovely village it is.  We saw several people and stopped to chat and it was almost as if things were back to normal.  

We also had a walk through the village where on our arrival we had seen a tall and long Cotswold stone wall with beautiful rose bushes growing all along the length of it - see my first collage - I did ring the bell at the side of the very large gates because I would love to know the variety, but no-one answered - so I will just have to try and find out another way.

In my second extra, you can see Mr. HCB several times - he is such a good and patient model - and in one shot he is looking at the books in the Village Library, which used to be a red telephone box - so great that they are used in this way.  

All in all a great day and we so enjoyed being out together - from next week, Mr. HCB will be going to Cheltenham daily for two weeks’ worth of cricket, so I will be all alone for much of the time (don’t tell him, but I’m quite looking forward to “doing my own thing”) - and that will not include housework.  

Can you believe I am now 75% through doing my 100 Abstracts?  I feel so privileged to be able to help the Mamie Martin Fund and thrilled that a fellow Blipper who lives in Scotland may even go over to Frank Kirwan’s open garden at Humbie Dean next week.  

The Mamie Martin Fund believes that no girl who has gained a place at secondary school should have to give it up because of poverty - so by supporting the Fund by sponsoring me, you can play your part in them working towards this ambitious goal.

“Lead by example; 
     support women 
          on their way to the top.  
Trust that they will extend a hand 
     to those who follow.”
Mariela Dabbah

https://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/MaureenIles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.