46100 'Royal Scot' + 45231 'Sherwood Forester'

I had a phone call from our resident train fanatic this morning... "steam coming through in forty minutes time!". I used this as an excuse for the daily walk and set off for a vantage point to the south of the village. 

Checking Real Time Trains I could see it was due to pass through the village at 12:27. I found myself a good spot albeit amidst prickly hawthorn. At twenty past twelve I had another call, "false alarm,. sorry, it's a diesel".

Turned out to be a diesel the caller had worked on as an apprentice at Stratford, so he was still perfectly happy. And I got a photograph of a nice shiny black diesel (extra). Later, I saw that the service was due to return at 16:32. So did I.

At just before half past four the diesel went past on its own (extra). I felt relatively confident then of seeing actual steam, and right on time she came through. I like the heat haze over the carriages, but oh my the filth.

I took a final extra as she passed me heading into and through Charfield; thick black smoke billowing behind. The romance of steam trains cannot be denied, and the smell on top of the bridge was redolent of childhood. 

But can you imagine having these as regular services?

Addendum: Looking at a different shot from today I can see there are two locomotives not one! I've checked and 45231 Sherwood Forester was behind 46100 Royal Scot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.