Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Heather

It has been a busy day - I walked Xena in the woods where I saw that the heather is starting to bloom, it looks amazing when it is covering the heath in colour. I then went to get groceries - now that Tommy is home my trolley is fuller than usual, especially as he is trying to gain mass and muscle - he is enormous already so I don't see the point myself. He put on 15 kg December through deliberately trying to gain mass and put on muscle in the gym.

Luckily Gavin was working from home today and had about a 40 minute break between meetings so he could give me a lift to the garage to collect the car I took yesterday to get the wing mirror replaced - an unnecessary waste of money thanks to a thoughtless driver, and of course we won't claim from insurance as the increase in premiums afterwards will not be worth it.

Now I need to get ready as we have a function at the boys' old school where Gavin is a governor - he is a very involved governor who is on various committees regarding finance, future projects and many other things which takes an enormous amount of his time, but he very much enjoys it. Tonight is the governors' dinner preceded by the music scholars leaving concert. I may get a bit tearful during that as I recall concerts past, as all of our boys performed in that concert in their respective years, Tommy was in the last concert held two years ago (last year everything was cancelled due to Covid) - the sheer brilliance of these school boys performing their final concert at school is very moving. Tommy would usually come with us to the concert but due to Covid restrictions the numbers are limited. It will be quite a late night after the dinner and speeches and then tomorrow is another busy day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.