RogMull

By RogMull

Jings..here comes a lion..and another

We were walking along in the bush, as you do in a typical Saturday morning, and then all of a sudden a lion appears and heads straight for me....and another one from behind the bush. This was my very first encounter with the lions I was to spend time with. I've got about 150 shots, but this first one, with their sudden appearance, did set the heart racing!

Even although there was a guide, some volunteers, and a guy with a gun standing nearby, I couldn't help but think on the disclaimer form we had to sign just ten minutes previously.

It was an incredible experience. These young lions ( about 13 months old) have entered a programme that will see them eventually returned completely to the wild. For now, they are in a large sanctuary area. However, they are wild animals, and we were well briefed before going out about the potential dangers, young or not. "Whatever you do, look them in the eye..." Well, I didn't really have much choice with this one. Quite an introduction!

How privileged have we been to have such an experience?! When We return home I shall construct a portfolio with some of my best shots. But I think this is a good start, don't you?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.