Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Holy Austin Rock Houses, Kinver

The day started at 2:30 am with an alarm prompting me to get up to meet a colleague on an industrial estate to observe early morning activity.  The colleague, also a temporary member of staff, was the first person I employed at the Council 31 years ago.  She had moved on to other jobs since then but, like me, she has come back to help out during these unusual times.  It was great to catch up and chat about old times.

After that I headed down to Kinver to meet the Operations Manager for this National Trust property, who had graciously granted permission for me to do some aerial photography of these houses, which were still in occupation as late as the 1950s.  It was a real privilege to be able to film and photograph the site and I will be sharing the footage and images with the Trust as well as creating a mural for the Council.

All was going swimmingly until I slipped and sent the drone into a tree, 15 metres above the ground.  And there it stayed!  Thankfully, I was able to contact a tree surgeon who expertly climbed the tree and retrieved the drone with no harm done.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.