Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Hind and Fawn

Between the showers I had a quick walk around the local fields. This hind not only has this year's fawn to look after, but a yearling male, which was probably last year's calf, nearby.  I find it interesting to see that the yearlings will still stay with the nursing herd and although I can't be sure, I think that two year olds are also staying within that group.  Certainly the herd of stags all seem to be more mature, with well developed antlers, suggesting they may be at least 3-4 years old.

In other news the local community Facebook page is 'up in arms' at a proposal being put in as a submission to the local plan process for some 2,000 houses next to our estate, on green belt land at its border between the West Midlands and Staffordshire.  I had a fair amount of involvement in my past career in supporting the process to develop the last local plan.  From my reading of the strategies being developed, there looks to be a fair chance that this proposal may be looked on favourably.  It fits in with the wider strategy to develop land close to good services and infrastructure, rather than on the edges of rural villages with poor public services and transport links.

Day Miles: 1.5 miles. Total Miles: 851.5 miles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.