Sharp Eyes

I needed sharp eyes to finally spot the kestrel way up in the tree. This is the best I could do for a blip. I have been on the lookout for days.

There are at least two kestrel in the huge tree nextdoors and I think they are breeding or already bringing up the young.
In the last weeks I've seen them flying many times. Most impressive - and loud! - are the chases - the chases between kestrel and blackbirds. Three times I saw one kestrel flying by carrying something. First two times not sure what it was. Third time was last Friday and I was standing on the street - mouth wide open - when he dropped his prey. It seemed to be too heavy for him as he couldn't get any height and he dropped it and it fell on a garage roof next to where I was standing. With some noise or better a bang.There were lots of feathers in the air afterwards...
I do hope so much it wasn't one of my little blackbirds. Difficult (at least for me).

22:15; 18°C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.