madowoi

By madowoi

Beachcombing for Wildflowers

I shall go in search of a wild weed
That grows in the lee of the wind,
And finding shall leave it hidden
Against the need of my mind
For surfaces thorny and brittle
When sharp thoughts whittle the heart---
A swift-odored anodyne
When sick thoughts without rhyme
Without reason
Work their treason in the mind.
Flowered with a blue
That is sea-blue only,
Leafed with a green
That is only the sea's,
Thorned for me and all the lonely---
A wild weed in the lee of the wind.


There is a Wild Weed, by Isabel Perry Doughty


The day was rainy and overcast, and I spent most of it glued to the computer going over course work. But after it cleared out a bit the combination of Wildflower Week and this poem here inspired me to walk along the shoreline to see what might be about. I did find a spot where some flowers were hidden away in the lee of the wind (see extra), which helped because the cold, wet breeze was blowing the little blossoms around making it hard to get a good focus. I decided to forgo the roses as too showy and obvious.

Clockwise from top left (common names only, I'm afraid): bindweed, sea rocket, beach peas, skullcap, herb robert, stitchwort

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.