madowoi

By madowoi

Stone Shelter

I dwell in Possibility –
A fairer House than Prose –
More numerous of Windows –
Superior – for Doors –

Of Chambers as the Cedars –
Impregnable of eye –
And for an everlasting Roof
The Gambrels of the Sky –

Of Visitors – the fairest –
For Occupation – This –
The spreading wide my narrow Hands
To gather Paradise –

I dwell in Possibility, by Emily Dickinson


Today's excursion began at Thuya Garden, where through some good timing and Midwestern manners I was allowed in a bit early. Wandering around as the only visitor made me appreciate the layout of the garden, which I've decided I like better than the Rockefeller garden over on Barr Hill. This garden felt more like an extension of the living space, and would be a wonderful place to spend the day. Honestly it could probably do with less flowers, though, if you ask me.

My walk took me along the Harbor Brook trail, which was quiet and cool. The highlight was a few patches of wood sorrel in bloom, including just one small patch with this rich pinkish hue unlike any of the others. I don't know how common this is, but it doesn't appear in any of my local ID books. I suppose northern wood sorrel changes colors in different soil conditions? Now that I've noticed it I'll probably see them all over. But I've included a shot in the extras just in case I discovered a new species that might be named after me someday. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.