Sea Urchin

One theme of this morning’s walk was, “animals are avoiding you.”

Technically it began as I walked along the side of the road to the trailhead, and the occasional oncoming cars swerved aside to give me more room, but I didn’t really pick up on it as a theme until a bit later.

When I got out onto the rocks some goldfinches in the trees flew away;

Walking along the seawall two does came from behind a rosebush and ran off inland;

At the first lagoon behind the seawall a mother duck and her ducklings came out from the reeds and swam away;

As I rounded the point an osprey perched in a tree flew off;

At the second lagoon I came across a buck with velvety antlers who snorted and disappeared into the trees as I approached;

When I went down by the water crabs scurried away and hid under the seaweed;

Coming around the cove at low tide the seagulls in the shallow water flew off to a nearby ledge;

I tried to photograph a bee inside the rose blossoms along the trail but they all flew away whenever I got close;

Walking across the next cobblestone beach little spiders kept scurrying away and hiding under the rocks as I walked along;

Walking through the woods back to the car a red squirrel chattered at me and scampered into a tree.


Which is why my photo is of this sea urchin. It was probably trying to get away as well, but fortunately for me it moves much slower than most animals.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.