olivereastwd

By olivereastwd

Goodbye to Lochranza

On the ferry out of Lochranza - this is the first of two that I'll catch today, the other being from Tarbert to Portavadie. Said goodbye to Mama and Papa today, who will be out for another week or so to camp on the Mull of Kintyre then on the Cowal Peninsula. As for me, I'm off to stay at Carry Farm jut south of Tighnabruaich for my last night. Should be a lovely spot on the coast and so nice to finish my trip on.

The ride to the campsite was really nice with two ferries, one of which was packed full of day cyclists that I rode with from Portavadie to Tighnabruaich - all of them had electric-assist bikes so found the small hills a bit easier than I did!

Speaking of hills, the first half of tomorrow's 100km cycle will be through the hills of the Cowal Peninsula. It will be a lot of work especially with a loaded bike, but should make for some stunning views especially as I'll leave early in the morning to catch the earliest ferry I can from Dunoon. Not sure how long it will all take me so I'm hoping to get back to Gourock before 1pm so I can have enough time for the last 50km to Glasgow

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.