WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Mirlitons de Rouen

I had a bit of pastry left over from the Maids of Honour the other day, so today I used it to make some Mirlitons de Rouen, which we had as dessert after our lunch of ratatouille. They are pretty much identical in concept to the Maids of Honour, but I used wild cherry jam to flavour them. According to Jane Grigson, mirliton "suggests a cheerful twirling of skirts and light feet"; I'll go with that.

The municipal swimming pool is open now that it's July, so I get to start my day with a swim; the water is already lovely. And this evening we engaged in another regular summer activity, tapas on the terrace at the local restaurant. Living the dream ...

In other news, I had a lovely surprise today: my 15 minutes of fame with the week's BCSplash! Thank you Bex and Richard :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.