A zig-zag book in the making - maybe?

Yesterday was the first morning of the West Yorkshire Print Workshop. `Photomontage for Printmakers’ run by Claire Hines.  Yesterday was a time for cutting out bits of paper and re-arranging them.  I’d already run off lots of prints from my `paper’ series using my dad’s old Canon printer, but not on photographic paper. The prints came out well on the different papers - you can see the texture on this one.  It also provided me with the serendipity of the blue marks, which is where it didn’t print solid black - I like it.

This morning is set to be a working on the computer morning and I produced the image above in preparation for today.  I’d decided to stick with the same theme (the story is beginning to grow in my head but isn’t quite there yet).  I knew I’d have quite a bit to cut out and GG suggested that I re-photograph my already cut out images again onto a white background making the selection process easier so I made a start yesterday afternoon (until I got too tired).  A good suggestion as it’s also meant that I’ve got a texture on my background layer, which I wouldn’t have  had if I’d gone back to the original photograph.  

I’ve just got to work out what the rest of the story is now for the additional pages.  At the moment I’m thinking people and art-galleries which will mean I probably lose the Black Dyke Mill building images - I’m not sure. One or two of you might have seen my `messy’ first thoughts, because I shared some of them on FB yesterday (one in extra), but I think my aim for today is to keep things simpler.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.